For any inquiries, please contact the president of EACES at j.jerger<at> or the secretary/treasurer of EACES at gatskova<at>


The European Association for Comparative Economic Studies (EACES) was founded in 1990. The principal focus of the association is the comparative study of real economic systems, including the economies of East and West, North and South, as well as the economic interactions among systems and among regional areas, such as the EU. The Association is a broadly based organization in which all schools of economic thought can exchange views and ideas on current and prospective research.

The Leibniz Institute for East and Southeast European Studies (Leibniz-Institut für Ost- und Südosteuropaforschung – IOS) is one of the largest and longest-established institutions of its kind in Germany. IOS is organized as a non-university research institution. It brings economic, historical, and other social science expertise to bear on multidisciplinary research fields that are oriented towards transnational and comparative perspectives. The focus lies especially on Southeast Europe and the territory of the former Soviet Union.

The National Research University Higher School of Economics was founded in 1991 in Moscow. Today, HSE’s faculty, researchers, and students represent over 100 countries, and are dedicated to maintaining the highest academic standards.  Now a dynamic university with four campuses, HSE University is a leader in combining Russian education traditions with the best international teaching and research practices. HSE University offers outstanding educational programs from secondary school to doctoral studies, with top departments and research centers in a number of fields.

The Institute of Economics at the Faculty of Business, Economics, Management Information Systems is a centre for applied theoretical and empirical research and teaching in many subfields of economics. It is located on a modern campus at the southern edge of a historic city dating back to the Roman Ages. The University of Regensburg provides a broad variety of disciplines and excellent facilities for research and academic teaching to more than 21,000 students and 3,200 staff. Fostering and strengthening the link to countries and institutions in Central and Eastern Europe is one of its missions.

The University of Campania Luigi Vanvitelli was established in 1991 and with its 24,000 students is one of the largest Universities in Southern Italy. It includes16 Departments, of which 7 are in the fields of Medicine. The other Departments include: Architecture, Biotechnologies, Economics, Engineering, Environmental, Biological and Pharmaceutical Sciences, Law, Mathematics and Physics, Political Sciences, Psychology. The Departments are in historical and prestigious buildings in Naples, Caserta and its province. The Economics Department is located in Capua.