EACES Doctoral Award 2022

EACES Award 2022

The best doctoral dissertation in comparative economic systems 

The European Association for Comparative Economic Studies (EACES) invites proposals for the EACES Award 2022 for the best doctoral dissertation in the fields of comparative economics. The winner will receive a prize of 1000 Euro.

The award will be given to the work that in the opinion of the jury has the greatest potential to impact the field of comparative economic studies in the future. Both theoretical and empirical contributions are appropriate. They may investigate any area covered by the research sponsored by EACES including comparative analysis of different economic systems and institutions and their evolution.

It is a condition of the award that the winner presents her or his work in the form of a short lecture in a plenary session of the 17th EACES conference. 


To be eligible for the EACES award 2022, the doctoral dissertation must have been accepted for the degree of PhD (or equivalent in continental Europe) between January 2020 and December 2021. The deadline for submissions is 31 May, 2022. Applications should be sent by e-mail to the address given below and include

  • a CV in English;
  • an abstract in English of 3-5 pages (1.5-spaced, incl. exhibits);
  • the full text of the dissertation.

Furthermore, applicants must arrange for a

  • nomination letter by one of the supervisors/examiners of the thesis.

The nomination letter has to specify when and where the dissertation has been accepted and must be sent directly from the supervisor/examiner. It should also contain a substantial evaluation of the research.

Applications and nomination letters have to be sent via e-mail as pdf document(s) to the chair of the selection committee, Jürgen Jerger (University of Regensburg), e-mail: j.jerger<at>ur.de

Submission hints 

Applicants are asked to make sure that the abstract specifies 
(i) the theoretical or empirical literature to which the thesis is contributing;
(ii) the main contribution made; 
(iii) details of the methodology and, if applicable, data set(s) employed;
(iv) the publications or status of submission of parts of the dissertation, if any;
(v) the person that has been asked to send the nomination letter mentioned above.

Past winners and their dissertations 

2021: Peter Howard Jones (University of Bournemouth) The Influence of the Washington Consensus Programme on the Transitional Economies of Eastern Europe – a firm level micro economic analysis

2018: Sonja Avlijas (PhD from London School of Economics) Explaining variation in female labour force participation across Eastern Europe: The political economy of industrial upgrading and service transition

2016: Thomas Lambert (Joint PhD from UC Louvain and Université Lille 2) Essays on the political economy of finance

2014: Gabriel Burdín (PhD from the University of Siena) Essays on Worker-Managed Firms 

2012: Bjoern Jindra (PhD from the University of Sussex) Internationalisation Theory and Technological Accumulation. Investigation of multinational affiliates in East Germany 

2010: Roman Horváth (PhD from Charles University Prague) Empirical essays on monetary economics

2008: Sanjaya Acharya (PhD from Erasmus University Rotterdam) Pro-poor growth and liberalisation: CGE Policy modelling for Nepal 

2006: Bruno Merleverde (PhD from University of Gent) The Effects of Economic Reform and Foreign Direct Investment on the Domestic Economy and the Domestic Companies of Central and Eastern European Transition Countries

2004: Balazs Egert (PhD from Université de Paris X – Nanterre) Le taux de change réel dans la transition des pays d’Europe centrale et orientale; Aspects théoriques et empiriques

2002: Daniel Piazolo (PhD from University of Kiel) The Integration Process between Eastern and Western Europe

2000: Katharina Mueller (PhD from University Viadrina, Frankfurt/Oder) The Political Economy of Pension Reform in Central-Eastern Europe

1998: Klaus Meyer (PhD from London Business School) Determinants of Direct Foreign Investment in Central and Eastern Europe

1996: Bert van Selm (PhD from University of Groningen) The Economics of Soviet Break-up

1994: Wim Swaan (PhD from University of Amsterdam) Behaviour and Institutions under Economic Reform. Price Regulation and Market Behaviour in Hungary